[EVENT STORY] Taisho Roman Opera ~My Friend, What Are You Thinking Of?~

Translation of the event story Taisho Roman Opera ~My Friend, What Are You Thinking Of?~ featuring S.E.M and Mofumofuen. 

Click here to read the manga chapters.


Taisho Roman Opera ~My Friend, What Are You Thinking Of?~ (大正浪漫歌劇~友ヨ今何ヲ思フ~)
Event period: 25/01~31/01 (2016)

Chapter 1
Shiro: Oooh!
Shiro: The set is amazing!
Shiro: So this is the Taisho era!
Nao: Wow… It’s like we travelled back in time…!
Kanon: Brick buildings, stone pavement, there are even gas lamps~! Wow~ It’s like we’re in a foreign country~!
Shiro: So this is what Japan looked like in the olden days…
Shiro: Was there no electricity?
Nao: It was an era where everything was still gas and steam powered. Since civilization was rapidly increasing,
Nao: from this era onwards we advanced to power plants and electricity had spread.
Shiro: Really? It’s completely different from our era.
Kanon: Ah~ there’s a rickshaw~! Yay, Kanon’s gonna ride it♪
Shiro: Me too, me too! I’m gonna ride it first!
Nao: W-Wait! I want to ride it too!
Nao: Don’t leave me behind~!

Chapter 2
Jiro: I-I can’t take this anymore… This old man is at his limit…
Jiro: Wait, let me rest.
Rui: Mister Yamashita, Are you OK?
Jiro: Not okay.
Jiro: I expected this, but kids have a monstrous supply of energy…
Michio: I plan on trying the stamp rally now. What about you two?
Rui: Wow, sounds fun! Of course I’ll go with you♪
Jiro: I’ll pass…
Jiro: Apart from Rui, Hazama-san… Aren’t you a bit too energetic?
Michio: Not at all. I’m just watching my pace.
Jiro: That’s Hazama-san for you… Have fun. I’m going to hang around here.
Michio: We will meet up at the cafeteria later.
Rui: See you soon☆ Bye-bye, Mister Yamashita♪

Chapter 3
Kanon: So Kanon’s role is Rui-sensei as a kid? Okay, watch this!
Kanon: “Hello! Mister Yamashita! Did you enjoy with Mofumofuen?”
Shiro: Ahahaha! You sound like Rui-sensei! My role is…
Shiro: “This old man’s got no energy, alright? I’m no match for you guys~”
Kanon: Ahaha! That’s something Jiro-sensei would say~!
Nao: We’re playing the roles of the teachers when they were little…
Shiro: Oh, that serious retort sounds like Michio-sensei~!
Kanon: But Jiro-sensei doesn’t really seem like a teacher, does he~?
Shiro: Wasn’t he a chemistry teacher?
Kanon: He said that you can turn stones into gold with alchemy!
Shiro: What the heck, that’s so fishy! I wanna try chemistry too!
Nao: Uhm, guys… Science is a proper subject, you know…?

Chapter 4
Jiro: Ah…
Jiro: Aaah-choo!
Michio: Are you okay, Yamashita-kun?
Jiro: Yeah, I’m fine… I think someone is gossiping about me.
Rui: Gossiping…? Could it be the Mofumofuen boys we’re co-starring with?
Michio: We’ve rehearsed together as our characters in their childhood and adolescence,
Michio: but I’m genuinely surprised by their professionalism.
Rui: A story about making a promise for the future and walking different lives.
Jiro: So it’s a parting? You can really feel the uncertainty of life…
Michio: The theme of this movie is the power and value of an unbreakable promise and bond.
Rui: Wonderful! We have to do our best to convey that to the audience♪

Chapter 5
Kanon: Back, check.
Kanon: Collar, check…
Kanon: Yup, my outfit’s ready.
Kanon: *sigh*… I can’t keep calm. I’ll practice my lines one more time.
Kanon: Ugh… No matter how many times I say this line, the director says that it’s still not good…
Kanon: He said that “We’ll always be together” is the most important line. But… I don’t know…
Kanon: I can’t take it anymore! Getting told that it’s not good a lot makes Kanon angry~!
Kanon: But… It’s frustrating not being able to do it properly…
Nao: What’s wrong?
Kanon: *cries* Nao-kun! I can’t say my line right~
Nao: The one you were saying earlier? O-Okay, I’ll help you practice.
Shiro: Eeeh? Even I’m getting worried! I’ll help too!

Chapter 6
Jiro: Is it time for the real take? That ends my last script check.
Jiro: …Oh my. The Mofumofuen kiddies are more nervous than we are.
Michio: It’s not surprising. Even though they are former child actors, they are still young.
Michio: No matter how much experience one may have, there is no such thing as a perfect person.
Jiro: Yeah, you’re right…
Jiro: Shall I go intervene?
Rui: I’ll cheer you up. Sounds like a good idea!
Jiro: Hehe… Well, we should help each other in times of need.
Michio: Hm… As expected of Yamashita-kun. Maita-kun, let’s go.
Rui: Sure! Let’s put on an extraordinary smile♪

Chapter 7
Kanon: *giggle*… *giggle*…
Kanon: Ahaha!
Shiro: Hehehe… The teachers were so funny!
Nao: Hehe… W-We shouldn’t laugh. Hehe… They went to all the trouble of relaxing us.
Shiro: But Jiro-sensei is laid-back at times like this too.
Shiro: “I will now show you Hazama-san’s funny face.”
Shiro: *giggle*…
Nao: He was worried about us, wasn’t he? Adults are amazing.
Shiro: Is this what they call the composure of an adult? That’s so funny!
Kanon: I thought Jiro-sensei didn’t seem like a teacher but he’s really nice.
Kanon: Michio-sensei looks scary but he’s actually dependable and funny.
Kanon: And Rui-sensei is cute even though he’s an adult…
Kanon: Is this what it’s like when you become an adult?

Chapter 8
Rui: “I hate to say this, but this is where we part ways…”
Michio: “Sorry. I was supposed to go to the battlefield together with you two…”
Jiro: “It can’t be helped with the condition your body’s in. Besides, wielding a sword isn’t everything.”
Jiro: “Whatever path we may take, the feelings we have towards our country are the same. I must do what needs to be done.”
Michio: “Yes. The promise we made that day is still forever etched in our hearts.”
Michio: “I will not give up searching for something that I can do here.”
Jiro: “Even if we are apart, our hearts will always be one at that place.”
Jiro: “…Farewell, my friend.”

Rui: “Let’s meet again… Surely, at that place.”

Jiro: …Everything’s going along smoothly. My throat’s in good condition too.
Rui: The Mofumofuen boys are relaxed too. We won’t lose to them!
Michio: Yes. Let’s continue to push forward to the end.

Chapter 9
Kanon: “Oath of the Peach Garden…?”
Shiro: “Yeah. During the Three Kingdoms period, three men that were born at a different times and places…”
Nao: “Took an oath to devote themselves to their country and die together.”
Shiro: “That’s nice! Let’s take an oath as well! Don’t adults exchange cups?”
Kanon: “But we’re kids so we can’t drink alcohol.”
Shiro: “Uh… Then let’s bury treasure instead!”
Nao: “Yeah, that sounds nice. I only have this at the moment though… Okay, let’s cover it with the dirt.”
Kanon: “…That makes us brothers now. We’ll a~lways be together even when we become adults.”
Kanon: “Let’s do our best for the country! That’s a promise… Don’t forget it…!”

Shiro: Wow, the applause is amazing! The director looks satisfied as well! We did it!
Kanon: Ehehe. Okay, lift your hands up high~
Kanon: High five!
Kanon: Good job♪

Chapter 10
Michio: It has ended without any problems… It seems that we were able to fulfil our roles.
Rui: That was a perfect stage! The applause didn’t stop.
Rui: Especially… Mister Yamashita!
Rui: That was a marvelous performance! Fabulous!
Jiro: …Well, as an adult, I can’t look shameful in front of Kanon-kun and the others, right?
Jiro: If I did, wouldn’t I lose face?
Jiro: Well, things like this are okay once in a while.
Rui: Being warmhearted is Mister Yamashita’s charm point☆
Jiro: Right~? I think so too~
Jiro: …Just kidding… Hehehe.
Michio: Yamashita-kun, Maita-kun, it’s time for the curtain call.
Jiro: Okay. Well then, let’s go!


Originally uploaded on 170126 @ juushimajitenshi (tumblr)

Leave a comment